Cress Gallery’s Permanent Collection Nationally Recognized Through Grant

February 26, 2016


Ruth Grover

Cress Gallery of Art

(423) 304-9789

Cress Gallery’s Permanent Collection Nationally Recognized Through Grant

Chattanooga, Tenn., (Feb. 24, 2016)—The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga’s Cress Gallery was recently awarded a generous Preservation Assistance Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH).

NEH’s grant will fund preservation support specifically for works of paper in the Gallery’s Permanent Collection, many of which are decades old and require special attention due to their fragile state. In additional to the material necessary for preservation, the grant will cover the costs for a certified art conservator to visit UTC, assess and assist in developing a long-term preservation plan, as well as train gallery staff in sustainable preservation methods.

“The Cress Gallery is truly grateful for the recognition the NEH has given our Permanent Collection of Art here at UTC. Our extensive holdings of artwork on paper targeted by the grant are mostly unique and not available at any other institution,” said Ruth Grover, Director and Curator, Cress Gallery and Collections.

Included in the collections to be protected are the works of former head of the Department of Art, Weimer Pursell. He began his tenure with UTC, then University of Chattanooga, in 1948. Pursell’s nationally acclaimed work includes iconic home front posters from World War II along with illustrations and covers featured in Fortune, Forbes, and Newsweek, to name a few. The Gallery's Design Excellence (50 Posters of the '80's) collection is also a priority for preservation efforts. The collection features works from recent history's nationally and internationally recognized graphic artists. Barry Moser and Frank Baisden, both artists from the region with intimate ties to the University, are also featured in the collection of original works on paper along with limited edition prints by major American and European Modern Era artists such as Robert Motherwell, John Piper, Patrick Caulfield, and Dieter Roth, whose works will directly benefit from this grant.